Skip to content

Devotionary

February 23, 2011

You know you’re a bad blogger when you’re mom starts to rag on you for “not blogging recently”. The truth is, at this point in life, school has to come over blogging. So, when school gets crazy (3 tests last week, 4 big projects this week), blogging has to be put on hold.

Trust me, I wish it wasn’t so!

Anyways, this morning I had a few moments to catch up on my reading in Devotionary (If you’re looking for a devotional, I highly recommend it!). The topic? Indwelling. Yes, I know deep for a just a few pages.

Bottom line- It was too good not to share.

{thanks,katie}

“Actions speak louder than words…It is a profound truth that discloses the charade of ingratiating expressions that conceal and masquerade your true motives.

The revelation of this reality occurs whenever someone shows up at my house uninvited. When I answer the door my words will always be cordial and warm, but they will be drowned out by my body language. If it is a stranger or a solicitor, I greet that person head-on with my body blocking the entryway. An aquaintance or casual caller will make it to the foyer, but no further. Friends I know, respect, and love deeply will be greeted with a smile and outstretched arm the practically drags them to my favorite chair where they are offered whatever they want from my kitchen to eat or drink. This third reception is the kind that the Apostle Paul alludes to when he prays that Christ may dwell in our hearts through faith. Paul employs the greek word for “dwell” to paint a picture of someone who is right at home in our house. …

The depth of our love of God and our relationship with him is directly proportionate to the degree our lives reflect His presence in all that we do, not just what we say. …

If Christ truly is the Lord of our lives, and our relationship with him is one of family, then he will be dwelling in the inmost rooms of our hearts. The result will be the rearranging of some of our furniture or the cleaning out of a few closets. When Christ comes to dwell in us, our lives will not be the same.”

Is Christ dwelling in you today? Are you making room for him? Or are you blocking the entryway?

Be Blessed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 1:02 PM

    Wow.
    “Dwell.”
    You’ve described it so beautifully.
    Thank you.

  2. Sonia permalink
    February 24, 2011 9:17 AM

    Wow. I needed that one today. Wow. Thanks. In my face. Much love!

  3. March 7, 2011 12:11 AM

    Wow! ……. …… ……. (I’m still in awed/shocked silence) I will definitely be looking into Devotionary! Thank you for the thought provoking quote, dear friend. :)

Leave a comment