Skip to content

To Do Today: Check out The Illustrator’s Wife!

November 5, 2010

Today I have the privilege  of featuring Meagan Page, of The Illustrator’s Wife!

I can’t even begin to say enough great things about Meagan. She and I grew up together in SC. She’s always been a sort of big sister in my life, someone I really respect and admire. Today she’s  happily married to a fantastic illustrator, Jake and has her own blog!

 

Meagan and Jake on their wedding day

Starbucks drink: Honestly, it depends on the season. If it’s the holidays, I’ll order a pumpkin spice latte or gingerbread latte every time. If it’s not, I usually get a chai tea latte or iced chai (I know, it’s not even coffee…LAME…but I love it.)

Favorite Charlotte local’s spot: Amelie’s French Bakery. It’s in the arts district of NoDa (which I blogged about a few weeks back), and it has a way of transporting me to Paris every time I step through its doors. The whole place is decorated in a French-shabby-chic style, with eclectic tables and comfy seating and really unique lamps, chandeliers, and art on the walls. Plus, they serve all kinds of baked deliciousness – croissants, éclairs, macaroons, tea cakes…, and since it’s one of the few places in Charlotte that’s open 24/7, it’s almost always crowded with artsy, intellectual types, drawing or writing or having some sort of cerebral discussion. I love the bohemia and the buzz in the air there.

Last read: Praying with the Church: Following Jesus Daily, Hourly, Today by Scot McKnight. I read anything of his I can get my hands on. He’s super smart, but he has a way of breaking spiritual stuff down to my level, maybe that comes from his being a professor.

Oh, and he has a blog, too!

Last watched : My husband, Jake, and I have started getting episodes of the tv show, The Wire, from Netflix. We just watched the first disc of season 2.

Nail Polish: What can I say, I’m kind of a plain jane when it comes to my nails. But when I do wear polish, it’s usually fairly subtle so it can go with a lot. I like SpaRitual Nail Lacquer in the color Marvel.

My Perfect Day: Tough one. Like so many things, I feel like it would depend on my mood. On the one hand, I remember a day I spent while I was studying abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina, back in college. I didn’t have class, so I spent the day roaming Corrientes Avenue, which has about a million old bookstores, and I kept ducking in to one after the other, leisurely browsing, stopping at street cafes for a tiny but really strong cup of coffee every now and then, watching the people pass by around me, scribbling thoughts in my pocket notebook. That was such a perfect day.

But on the other hand, something else inside me says it just can’t be a perfect day without a tropical beach involved, some sunbathing with island music in my ears, some water sports, maybe a horseback ride on the beach or zipline adventure through the treetops of the nearby jungle. And of course some yummy island food and drink. So I don’t know. Tough question!

Song I can’t turn off: I’m loving the whole Bluebird album by Randall Goodgame. He wrote some stuff for Caedmon’s Call back in the day, which I also never get tired of.

Blog I can’t get enough of: The Sartorialist

Dream vacation: Morocco. I’ve never been, but (go ahead and laugh) I wandered through the Epcot version a few years back and it absolutely captivated my imagination. Since then I’ve researched it, and I can’t think of a place I’m more excited to visit.

Comfort food: Popcorn. I’m obsessed with popcorn.

What I’m lovin’ on Etsy lately: Everything! There is so much cute stuff on that site, and so many talented people. But to narrow it down a little, I particularly like the 2011 Tree Calendar by seller photographybykarina, the Milton the Owl pillow by aprilfoss, and so much of the jewelry by kalikadesigns. And of course I love my husband’s coasters!

Why I started “The Illustrator’s Wife”: My husband is a very skilled artist, but between the time he spends procuring work and doing actual illustration, he has very little time for self-promotion. I noticed this was the case with a lot of my artist friends, so I created The Illustrator’s Wife to show off their work. My hope is that the blog will put some really excellent work out there that might not otherwise be seen by people, and also that the art and writing on the site would inspire and encourage those who visit.

You can have these awesome coasters with Jake’s artwork, on the Page’s Etsy shop!

Stop by The Illustrator’s Wife , leave some love, and tell Meagan I said hi!

Happy Weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Douglas permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:20 PM

    Hey Michelle, great to “see” you on FB and blog. Enjoyed the interview with that cute Meagan- naturally! Tell your fam hello.

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: The Illustrator’s Wife talks Astronomers vs. Astronauts « A Simple Conversation

Leave a Reply

