Skip to content

ahh! I free moment to blog! (AKA: food.)

April 20, 2010

Lets talk about food. I love it!

I’m still in awe and couldn’t be more inspired by Bakerella…. I just finished reading her post today on homemade cinnamon buns, it made me feel like the homemade chocolate pudding I made for Cole was a bit lacking. Its ok though, it was yummy all the same :)

If I started to list to you all the homework I have at this point it time, you’d stop reading. So I wont. I’ll continue my rant on food… and Cole’s birthday!

This weekend was Cole’s 21st birthday! And what a happy weekend it was :) We started off the weekend with dinner with friends at a yummy Thai restaurant, saw How To Train Your Dragon on Saturday night, and then on his actual birthday, Sunday, we went to lunch at both of our most favorite restaurant, California Pizza Kitchen.

Cole seemed to enjoy the scuba tank cake I made him:)

With inspiration for Bakerella, I made her delicious yellow cake recipe with her dark chocolate cream cheese buttercream icing… very tasty! (the fondant recipe was great too! I found it by Googling “marshmallow fondant”)

I was fairly happy with the results of the cake and am looking forward to my next fondant endeavor :)

Tonight Cole and I made Lucinda Scala Quinn’s Pork Chops with Apples and Onions: A+++. It was amazing!

I was able to find the rescipe and picture online so I thought I’d post it for my dear friend Hannah and her husband Reggi (I’ve been missing her a lot today!)

Here it is…

  • 6 bone-in pork chops (loin or shoulder), cut 3/4 inch thick
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil or vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 large white onion, sliced
  • 2 to 3 apples, cored and sliced (about 3 cups)
  • 1 cup beer, white wine, cider, or chicken broth (we used the chicken broth to save $$$)

    YUMMYyummyYUMMY!

Directions:

  1. Trim the chops of excess fat. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper on both sides. Heat a 14-inch cast-iron skillet (if you have a smaller one, you’ll need to work in batches) over high heat, and then swirl in the olive oil. Lay in the pork chops and don’t move them for a few minutes, to assure a good golden sear forms. Turn and brown well on the second side for a total of about 10 minutes. Transfer the chops to a warm plate.
  2. Swirl the butter into the pan. Add the onion and apples. Saute until the onion slices are lightly caramelized and the apples have begun to soften, about 8 minutes. Stir in the beer or other liquid. Return chops to the pan.
  3. Cook until the pork is tender, about 15 more minutes (depending on the size of the chops), turning halfway through and covering the chops with the apple mixture. If the apple mixture needs a little thickening, transfer the chops to the warm plate again and simmer the mixture on high for a few minutes to reduce. Serve the chops over rice or mashed potatoes with a large spoonful of the apple-onion mixture over the top.

The sad thing is, I could keep talking about food… but I promise I wont… Its back to the books, and a 10pm all-hall meeting for me (who does that!?!?)

If your looking for good reading this week check out Psalm 30-42… Its working me over!

LOVEloveLOVE,

MA

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

