Skip to content

Finding myself feeling like Hagar…

February 23, 2010

“The angel of the LORD found Hagar near a spring in the desert; it was the spring that is beside the road to Shur. And he said, “Hagar, servant of Sarai, where have you come from, and where are you going?” “I’m running away from my mistress Sarai,” she answered. Then the angel of the LORD told her, “Go back to your mistress and submit to her.” The angel added, “I will so increase your descendants that they will be too numerous to count.’ ”

Genesis 16:7-10 NIV

Do you ever feel like God has called you to do something huge, something with purpose beyond what you understand? And when the going gets tough and you feel like your purpose is far from accomplished, do you want to quit?

Today I wanted to. bad.

This morning I read the passage above and the Angel’s response to Hagar totally hit home with me. You see, Hagar was over Sari, she had taken her son and was running away, much like I felt today. (I think you can imagine a time where you wanted to throw in the towel, pack up and say “I’ll just head out now”. Yep, that was me a little while ago). What a blessing time in the word is! Just as I was feeling this way God brought me to this passage and the Angel’s word’s “Go back to your mistress and submit to her” rang in my ears all day. This feeling of wanting to give up only got more intense, but the Word of the Lord is strong, and my sward of the Spirit. So while I may not be a servant running from a mistress, I know what its like to want to give up and run away. But God has called me to keep my commitments and finish His work to completion, just like He’s going to do in me. I don’t necessarily have a mistress to submit to, but I have a Savior who’s purpose I long to submit it. So thats what I’ll do, stick it out and submit to my Savior. May HE get all the glory!

If any of this makes sense…I think in a small way I understand how Hargar felt.

much love

MA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

