Skip to content

the living room

February 19, 2010

Dinner was a success! I am so blessed to spend time each week with these beautiful, godly women. They make me want to love Jesus more!!

Erica, Nicole, Priscilla, and Steph (minus Ashley)

We enjoyed our picnic on the floor as we discussed the olympics, food, and idols. Yes, the conversation was great.

At one point we talked about Biblical characters who were faced with idol just like we are today. I had the opportunity to share with the girls an awesome verse I read in Daniel 3 this week. The verse is Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego’s response to King Nebuchadnezzar when he asked them to bow before his idol.

“16 Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to the king, ‘O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. 17 If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. 18 But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up’.”

How awesome is that! I told the girls thats what I want my response to be to the devil whenever I am tempted to worship an idol, “God can save me,but even if he doesn’t, I still won’t worship that idol”. Nicole reminded us what a picture of boldness the statement they made was. I don’t often pray to be bold, but I should. “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power”  2 Timothy 1:7

Ask God to reveal the idols in your life. Your world will be rocked.

Bedtime, I’m looking forward to Friday….

muchlove

MA

ps:: here’s the website for our study, http://kellyminter.com/the-living-room/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Priscilla permalink
    February 21, 2010 4:12 AM

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe that you put that picture up on the web :). (just kidding, haha ) I really loved that passage about Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. I want to be like them and have their faith and strength, not only towards my idols, but in every area of my life.

  2. Priscilla permalink
    February 21, 2010 4:14 AM

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe that you put that picture up on the web :). (just kidding, haha ) I really loved that passage about Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. I want to be like them and have their faith and strength, not only towards my idols, but in every area of my life.

Leave a Reply

