Skip to content

Glitter Glue, Love, and Butterfinger cake

February 18, 2010

Yes. These 3 words do go together and describe my night perfectly.

On Wednesday nights I lead the 4yr old Awana Cubbies class at my church in West Palm. Its quite thrilling. And although I come home every week without a voice and swollen feet from standing too long, I love it. The children really aren’t perfect, but they love Jesus and coming to Awana and that makes me love it even more. (It’s also a great opportunity to put my newly acquired classroom management skills to work.)

Tonight was my first night teaching alone, as the former teacher has been filtering me in over the past few weeks. I was in serious need of help when my sweet boyfriend Cole, stepped up to the plate. I loved every minute of watching him play playdough with the kids and help put glitter glue on their crafts. He was amazing. I know how much he loves going to church so I realize it was a sacrifice for him to help out, but it was such a blessing. I am daily thankful for him and how God uses him in my life!

After church I treated him to Chick-fil-a lemonade as a thank you for helping out. He acted like it was no big deal (this is where I’m temped to pull Julie’s line from Julie and Julia “what a Saint”, but as we learned in the move, boys don’t like such a title so I’ll leave it at, I love him very much).  We laughed all the way home about the kids and chatted about prayer, what a great night.

I ended tonight prepping for tomorrow night. Thursday nights at 9 I meet with some of the sweetest girls I know for a weekly Bible study. Its hands down one of the highlights of my week. We are just beginning a study called No Other Gods by Kelly Minter. It is an amazing study and the best part is, each week has a recipe, candle scent and playlist to go along with the meeting. I love Kelly’s desire to create true community among women. So tonight I put together the dessert for week 1, Butterfinger cake! try it out!

Butterfinger Cake
Ingredients:
1 box Devil’s food cake mix
10 oz. Cola or diet cola
1 egg white
7 oz. Sweetened condensed milk
2 Tablespoons peanut butter
8 oz. Frozen whipped topping (such as Cool Whip), thawed
7 Nestle fun-sized Butterfinger candy bars

Directions:
Combine cake mix, cola, and egg white. Bake according to cake mix instructions in a greased 9×13 pan.

A few minutes before the cake is to be done, combine sweetened condensed milk and peanut butter in a saucepan. Cook and stir on low to make creamy and warm.

When cake is done and still hot, poke holes in top of cake with a knife and pour peanut butter mixture over top of cake. You may have to spread the mixture a little to help it go down into the holes. Sprinkle top with half of the chopped butterfingers. Cool cake completely

Cover with Cool Whip and sprinkle remaining Butterfingers over top. Keep in fridge until ready to serve.

heres what mine looks like so far…

the whipped cream goes on tomorrow before we dig in.

I’m already so looking forward to Bible study. No Other Gods is all about idols (shocker) and every day since we’ve started the study I feel like a verse, or comment, or song, or tv show, has come to my attention that has to do with idols. God is trying to say something and I pray that He gives me ears to listen. I want to remove all idols in my life and live simple and free in awe of the King. I’m sooo excited to work through this study with these amazing women!

Its past my early college bedtime.

muchlove

MA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

