Skip to content

A Simple DIY: Stockholm Map Coasters

October 27, 2010

I’ve mentioned before that I spent the month of May in both Goteborg and Stockholm, Sweden. I couldn’t be more in love with the country and it’s people.

I wanted to put my trusty Stockholm map to good use, so I made it into a set of coasters for my apartment!

The process is so simple and you can do it yourself with any old map!

here’s what you need:

1 old (or not so old) map

1 square of cork

a ruler

spray adheasive

a sharpie

an exacto knife/ or other razor to cut the cork

first things first:

Measure out the size of your coasters on your cork. Mine were 3.5″x3.5″, and I feel it was a good call on size. As you can see, I had some extra cork on the sides; I just marked that so I wouldn’t get all the lines confused.

I cut my map down so that I didn’t have to deal with all the extra paper when I sprayed the adhesive. Next, I sprayed the adhesive ( I used 3M Super 77) on the side without the lines, and then attached the map.

NOTE: you’ll want to cover the area around the cork when you spray the adhesive cause it will get VERY sticky.

I used a cardboard box to cover my surface while spraying and cutting the coasters.

Trim off all the excess paper, and now you’re ready to cut out the coasters!

Cut the coasters out according to the lines you’ve drawn on the back.

Voila! You’ll have beautiful coasters that all your guests will swoon over.

Is it sad I look at that picture and think: “All it needs is a hot latte to sit on top :)”? Oh well, I do.

What will images will you mat on your coasters?

Happy Coaster-Making Wednesday

 

 

 

 

UPDATE: I’ve realized that I didn’t include a finish to seal the top of the coasters. I’ve done my research and you can use both polyurethane varnish or spray shellac. Let me know which one works best for you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 7:31 PM

    so… what happens when you put a sweaty drink on the coasters? the paper shrivels up! you need some spray shellac! >> http://www.amazon.com/Rockler-Zinsser-Clear-Spray-Shellac/dp/B001GHDJ3G

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

